Sponsored
Sports
Add news
News

Man Utd star Paul Pogba admits ‘I don’t know how to tackle’ after giving away penalty before scoring in 6-2 Roma rout

00

PAUL POGBA has admitted he ‘can’t tackle’ after giving away a penalty in Manchester United’s resounding Europa League semi-final win over Roma on Thursday night.

The Red Devils midfielder slid in to try and block a cross from Roma defender Rick Karsdorp, but instead gave a spot kick away when the ball struck his arm.

PA
Pogba was penalised after the ball struck his arm while he was sliding along the floor[/caption]
Getty
Pogba later scored for Man Utd as they ran riot against Roma[/caption]

And Pogba, who later netted Man Utd’s fifth goal in a thumping 6-2 first leg victory, hilariously owned up to his mistake after the match.

Speaking to BT Sport, he said: “Just don’t tackle. I don’t know how to tackle – why should I tackle? That’s my problem! I try to tackle and be the English guy.

“I need to practise more. I need to practise to tackle without arms. It’s unlucky. I’ve been unlucky a lot this season with penalties.”

Man Utd were 2-1 down at half-time but came roaring back with five second half goals to take a comprehensive lead into the return leg in Italy next week.

Elaborating on the team’s performance, Pogba added: “In the first half we had two mistakes and conceded two goals. We were a bit all over the place after the second goal.

“At half-time we said let’s do the right things, let’s do the right things, simple things.

“The manager spoke. We were all motivated to go and score as many goals as possible.

“The result is positive but it’s not finished. We will have to stay focused and play a nice game with the same mentality.”

FREE BETS: GET OVER £2,000 IN SIGN UP OFFERS HERE

Former referee Mark Halsey says Pogba handball WAS a penalty

PAUL POGBA can have no complaints after his first-half handball gifted Roma a penalty at Old Trafford.

The Manchester United midfielder’s arm was in an unnatural position when he blocked Rick Karsdorp’s cross.

Yes, Pogba was sliding in to stop the cross but the Frenchman made himself bigger with his arm in the air and Spanish referee Carlos del Cerro Grande correctly pointed to the spot.

VAR would have checked Pogba’s handball but it was not a clear and obvious error by the match official so the decision stood.

It was unnecessary for Pogba to slide into the challenge with his arm that high and his action allowed Roma back into the tie, making it 1-1.

Pogba’s handball would have been given in any competition in the world and had it happened in the Roma box then United would have been screaming for a penalty.  

Man Utd are bidding to reach a second Europa League final in four years after they lifted the trophy for the first time in their history in 2017.

If they do reach the final, Ole Gunnar Solskjaer’s side will face either Villarreal or Premier League rivals Arsenal.

The Gunners were beaten 2-1 in Spain after both teams were reduced to 10-men in an eventful night at the Estadio de la Ceramica.

⚽ Read our Football live blog for the very latest news from around the grounds

Загрузка...

Comments

Комментарии для сайта Cackle
Загрузка...

More news:

Read on Sportsweek.org:

Other sports