Add news

The Betfair Chase: everything you need to know about this horserace and who will do battle in 2022

Betfair Chase Bristol De Mai ridden by Daryl Jacob on their way to winning the Betfair Chase at Haydock Racecourse.
Bristol De Mai ridden by Daryl Jacob on their way to winning the Betfair Chase at Haydock Racecourse in 2020

The Betfair Chase is a Grade One National Hunt steeplechase, run over 3 miles 1.5 furlongs with 19 fences, that is held at Haydock Park in Lancashire each November. It is a prestigious race and a real highlight of the National Hunt season.

When is the 2022 Betfair Chase?

The race gets underway at 3pm on Saturday 19 November.

How to watch the race

If you’re looking forward to settling down the watch the race from home, then be sure to tune into ITV. Their coverage gets underway at 1.30pm on the main ITV channel.

What is the prize money for winning?

The winner of the 2022 Betfair Chase will take home £112,540.

Who are the runners in the 2022 race?

Horse: A Plus Tard | Jockey: Rachael Blackmore
Trainer: Henry De Bromhead

Protektorat | Jockey: Harry Skelton
Dan Skelton

Bristol De Mai | Jockey: Daryl Jacob
Nigel Twiston-Davies

Eldorado Allen | Jockey: Brendan Powell
Joe Tizzard

Frodon | Jockey: Bryony Frost
Paul Nicholls

What are the betting odds for this year’s runners?

The following odds are correct at the time of publishing and may vary depending on who your bookmaker is.

A Plus Tard: 8/15

Protektorat: 9/4

Bristol De Mai: 6/1

Eldorado Allen: 14/1

Frodon: 16/1

Get £10 in FREE bets
Want to place a bet on one of this year’s runners? Sign up to Betway and receive a £10 welcome bet.

View Deal

How do I place a bet on the Betfair Chase?

Follow our complete guide on how best to bet to find out more.

Recent winners

2021: A Plus Tard
2020: Bristol De Mai
2019: Lostintranslation
2018: Bristol De Mai
2017: Bristol De Mai
2016: Cue Card
2015: Cue Card
2014: Silviniaco Conti
2013: Cue Card
2012: Silviniaco Conti
2011: Kauto Star

Winning-most trainer, horse, jockey and owner

The all-time leading Betfair Chase trainer is Paul Nicholls, who has won it a total of six times to-date. Kauto Star is the most successful horse in the Betfair Chase. The gelding, who was trained by Paul Nicholls, won the race four times – 2006, 2007, 2009 and 2011. The top all-time Betfair Chase jockey is Ruby Walsh, who won a total of four times – three times on Kauto Star (2006, 2009 and 2011) and once on Silvianaco Conti (2012).

The history of the Betfair Chase

The event was established in 2005, and it originally served as the first part of a bonus scheme called the Betfair Million. Its sponsor, Betfair, offered a sum of £1,000,000 to leading contenders for successful performances in two subsequent races.

The initial version of the Betfair Million was awarded if the winner of the Betfair Chase went on to win both the King George VI Chase and the Cheltenham Gold Cup. The Lexus Chase was included as an alternative second leg for the next two years, and Kauto Star won the prize by taking the original route in 2006–07. The format was changed in 2008–09, when the bonus became available to any first-three finisher achieving first or second at the Cheltenham Festival and then winning the Grand National. The Betfair Million was dropped the following year. The £1,000,000 bonus returned as the “Chase Triple Crown” in 2015 when Jockey Club Racecourses offered it to any horse winning the race, the King George VI Chase and Cheltenham Gold Cup. Cue Card won the first two legs of the 2015–16 bonus but fell when in contention at Cheltenham. Since 2016 the Kauto Star Trophy has been awarded to the owner of a horse completing the Chase Triple Crown.

The Betfair Chase is familiarly known by its sponsored name, but its registered title is the Lancashire Chase. It is now the first Grade 1 event of the British National Hunt season. Prior to 2017 it was run over a distance of about 3 miles. The distance was increased to allow a longer run from the start to the first bend.

The original Lancashire Chase was first run at Manchester Racecourse in 1884.

You might also be interested in:

Horse & Hound magazine, out every Thursday, is packed with all the latest news and reports, as well as interviews, specials, nostalgia, vet and training advice. Find how you can enjoy the magazine delivered to your door every week, plus options to upgrade your subscription to access our online service that brings you breaking news and reports as well as other benefits.



Комментарии для сайта Cackle

More news:

Read on Sportsweek.org:

Tonkawood Farm
Tonkawood Farm
The Shire Horse Society

Other sports